Contact: isep.protists@gmail.com

Background image: Nannochloropsis sp., CSIRO

Copyright © 2018 ISEP. All rights reserved.

 

The story of ISEP

The formation of a society concerned with early events in eukaryotic evolution was discussed by Lynn Margulis, Max Taylor and Howard Whisler in Seattle, USA, in late 1973, following the First International Congress of Systematic and Evolutionary Biology in Boulder, USA, where the SET (serial endosymbiosis theory) had its first formal discussion and a protistan session was also held.

 

It was formally proposed, with election of an ad hoc editorial committee, at a meeting on the origin and evolution of mitosis in Boston, USA, in 1974 (see Margulis & Taylor, 1975), and this has been taken as the first Society for Evolutionary Protistology (SEP) meeting. The second, convened in Toronto, Canada, was summarized by Heath (1978). The word ‘International’ was added after the fourth meeting, held in Maryland, USA (see Goode & Corliss, 1981, 1982), and the society was formally incorporated in 1982.

 

Read more in Taylor, 2003.

 

Executive Committee

Canada Research Chair in Evolutionary Cell Biology
 
University of Alberta

joel.dacks@ualberta.ca

President

Joel B Dacks

University of Tsukuba

yuji@ccs.tsukuba.ac.jp

Past president

Yuji Inagaki

Instituto de Biología Evolutiva

michelle.leger@upf.edu

@freejakoba

European Councilor

Michelle Leger

Newsletter editor

Lukas VF Novak

Dalhousie University

alastair.simpson@dal.ca 

Office manager

Alastair GB

Simpson

Dalhousie University

claudio.slamovits@dal.ca

@cslamo

Treasurer

Claudio H

Slamovits

Edinburgh Napier University

S.Rueckert@napier.ac.uk

@SonjaRueckert

President - elect

Sonja Rueckert

Councilor at-large

Ryoma Kamikawa

Membership director

Anastasios Tsaousis

Dalhousie University

sergio.munoz@dal.ca

@Sergiophyceae

North American councilor

Sergio Muñoz

Mae Fah Luang University

gentekaki.ele@mfu.ac.th

@CiliateGal

Secretary

Eleni Gentekaki

 
 
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • RSS - Black Circle